30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 1

Prompt: Your current relationship, if single discuss how single life is.

Being Human Single

What an interesting jumping off point for my blog challenge. Well, if you know me then you have at least some tiny inkling of where this topic is going. For the past 5 years, I have embraced the single life. To be completely honest, although it can occasionally get a tad lonely, I have been really happy and fulfilled. I finished off my Senior year of high school, 4 years of college, and first year out of school with minimal romance. Sure, I have had a few crushes along the way, and maybe even a fling or two of sorts, but nothing in the way of a true relationship. Watching my friends date, get married, and even start families has been very eye-opening. I know a lot of people will say that in order to know what you want in a relationship, you have to put yourself out there and figure it out. Well, yes and no. I think I have learned quite a lot from being single and eavesdropping on my friends/family. Being single, I have never had to compromise what I want. I have allowed myself to be totally selfish, and I am glad. I have plenty of time to date. However, right now, I am still in the process of learning about me. And I like that.

In the immortal words of Buffy, “Okay, I’m cookie dough. I’m not done baking. I’m not finished becoming whatever the hell it is I’m gonna turn out to be. I make it through this, and the next thing, and the next thing, and… maybe one day I turn around and realize I’m ready. I’m cookies. And then, you know, if I want someone to eat— or enjoy warm, delicious cookie me, then, that’s fine. That’ll be then. When I’m done.”

Buffy knows best.

Source

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

