30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 2

Prompt: Where you’d like to be in 10 years.

2021

I feel like I should have a somewhat solid answer for this prompt, but I really don’t. Being in this “business of show” there’s a lot of “last minute’s.” In fact, my current life is pretty last minute, for the most part. Last minute auditions, last minute shoots, last minute plans with friends… you get the idea. Sure, there is some planning involved, not to mention a lot of hard work. However, there are so many life-changing decisions that are just not up to me. I control what I can.

I guess that was a bit of a tangent. O, well. It’s my blog. I do what I want.

See? Random.

Let’s see, 10 years from now I will be 33, which is just weird. I mean, sometimes I forget that I am actually in my twenties (this may be partially due to the fact that most of the roles I go out for are junior high and high school girls, so I somewhat have to live in that mindset). It should also be noted that today I was browsing movie-related articles online and came across a list of possible Oscar contenders for 2012. It seriously took me about a minute to figure out that the 2012 Oscars are next year. Maybe it’s because the films (for the most part) will be 2011 releases. Maybe I just have a hard time remembering what year it is (usually until June rolls around, I catch myself writing the previous year on my checks). I am going to go with the former, in addition to the fact that I have only had one cup of coffee today.

Either way, I guess what I am trying to convey is that I don’t have a set plan. I really don’t think I can have a set plan. If I had access to the TARDIS and visited my 13-year-old self (right smack dab in the middle of the hell-ish underworld publicly known as “junior high”), 13-year-old me would probably have a hard time being convinced that 23-year-old me is living, auditioning, and acting in Los Angeles. Here are just a few reasons why:

A)   At the time, I wanted to go to veterinary school. Acting was just a distant dream that hadn’t fully evolved yet.

B)   23-year-old me has red hair. This would be a complete shock to 13-year-old me.

C)   Uber-planner/Type A young-me would have freaked the bleep out at the thought of not having a steady income or career.

D)   I had no idea what a TARDIS was until about two years ago. The appearance of the blue box and what it has to do with time travel would be completely lost on little-me.

TARDIS at Gallifrey One, Los Angeles, Feb. 2011

13-year-old me would probably have been institutionalized. Also, I don’t think I could convince current-me to go back to 2001. Let’s face it, junior high kinda sucks.

So, rambling tangents aside, I have several unspoken goals for myself for the next few years, but no real “plan.” It’s terrifying, but also exciting and incredibly freeing. Ultimately, I would like to have an acting career that not only supports me, but also makes me incredibly proud. That, and a dog-friendly home.

Seriously.

O, and a note to 33-year-old me: Don’t even think about visiting me in a TARDIS, unless you aim to bring The Tenth Doctor along with you. I would much rather be surprised, thank you very much.

Of course, this is all under the assumption that the world doesn’t end on *Insert Date of Latest “Prediction” Here*.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

