30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 13

Prompt: Somewhere you’d like to move or visit.

Somewhere Over the (Double) Rainbow…

So, I am going to follow in my roommate’s footsteps and treat this as a two-parter.

Where would I like to move?

I have always thought that it would be really cool to own a home in a tiny, rural European town, maybe a few hours from a big(ish) city. Must be remnants of a Beauty and the Beast fantasy…

I want to sit on a fountain and sing-read to some sheep....

Source

(Keep in mind, in this scenario, this is my second home, and I have another home in either LA or New York. You know, for acting purposes… and because I like them. Apparently, I have quite a bit of money in this fantasy. Rambling…) When I was in high school, I would look at houses online because I didn’t have any friends and had to find something to fill my time I was cool and planning ahead for now. Mostly, I looked at places in the France and Italy. (Apparently, in addition to being independently wealthy, I also speak a second language. No, a few years of French in high school and college doesn’t count.) Mmm… an old brick/stone home with ivy crawling up the sides and lots of history, staircases,

Something like this, perhaps, but older

Source

and a small, but well-stocked wine cellar – because I am in Europe and rich and like wine – obviously.

Source

I can walk or ride my bike into town to pick up fresh groceries and trade stories with people over a steaming cup of strong coffee in a tiny cafe, my trusty pup laying patiently at my feet, occasionally earning a few scraps of croissant.

Croissant, please?

Where would I like to visit?

There are so many places, as I have mentioned before.

I will talk about one that I didn’t bring up previously: Africa. I have been seriously obsessed with Africa ever since… well, before I can remember. I apparently went through a phase, when I was about 5 years old, during which I wanted to name everything Africa (or Bobo). For this reason, the puppy I got for Christmas that year came with a predetermined name. Anyway, my interest in Africa increased after The Lion King came out.

Source

Let’s face it, that movie combined several of my childhood obsessions (Africa, lions, Jonathan Taylor Thomas) into one movie. I knew all the lines and songs by heart, had a “Lion King” themed birthday, dressed up as Simba (not Nala) for Halloween… but I digress.

A few years ago, some of my cousins went on a trip to Africa, and when they shared the pictures with the rest of the family at Christmas, I immediately wanted to get online and book my own African Adventure. Waterfalls, exotic animals, beautiful music, breathtaking scenery… say no more. A few destinations that I want to check out are:

Mozambique

Zanzibar

Zambezi River Gorges/Victoria Falls

Source

Source

Fantastic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

