30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 19

Prompt: Disrespecting your parents.

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

(Come on, that title was just too easy…)

I love my parents. I can’t begin to describe how blessed/fortunate/lucky I am to have them. We don’t always see eye-to-eye, but they are so supportive and loving. Sure, I occasionally complain about them being overprotective or blah blah blah, but really I thank my lucky stars every day that they are mine.

Circa 2006

As I have grown up, and watched other kids interacting (or not) with their parents, and I have noticed a few things that separate my mom and dad from the rest of the parent pack.

They call me… just to talk. And don’t get me started on text messages… This started when I moved away for college. Sure, it was occasionally annoying, but if I go a couple of days without talking to one of them, well, it just feels weird. I look forward to talking to them, especially now that I live so far away and only get to see them a few times a year.

They are really supportive. Let’s face it. Not every parent would be thrilled when their daughter announced that instead of going to veterinary school, she was going to be an actress. Not only did my parents support me, but they do everything that they can to help me along the way.

They aren’t satisfied with taking the easy way out. When my little sister was having trouble in school, my parents wanted to know what was going on. It turns out Laney has dyslexia. Instead of opting for medication or slower-paced classes, my mom sorted through different solutions and found one that they were more comfortable with trying (the Davis Method). Now Laney is at the top of her class, not to mention the fact that she is a year younger than everyone else in her grade. Smarty pants.

Although I may occasionally make fun of them for falling asleep during a movie or not understanding film lingo, they are pretty darn awesome. You gotta respect that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

