30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 20

Prompt: How important you think education is.

Seeking Knowledge

Geek Confession: I love to learn. I am, what you could call, a knowledge seeker.

Now, don’t get me wrong, Calculus didn’t make me want to twirl around on top of a mountain Julie Andrews-style,

"The hills are alive with the sound of differential equations..."

(source)

and I am pretty certain that I would rather listen to a car alarm go off for eight hours straight than sit through another Sci-Tech class.

However, despite my aversion to certain subjects, I think education is extremely valuable. Because of this, I am constantly trying to learn new things. Sure, I want to be a know-it-all as well-rounded as possible, but I also believe that education is a continual process that shouldn’t stop after graduation.

And yes, sometimes in school, I would get stuck in a class about which, frankly, my dear, I didn’t give a damn.

Occasionally, I would realize throughout the course that, hey, the material was actually interesting.

Alternatively, I would sometimes realize that counting down the days to the final exam and a before-lecture Venti Cappuccino was the only way I could suffer through the last few weeks.

Overall, I think it is important to strive to be as well-educated and well-informed as possible. Yes, I was that “Type-A” kid in school who read all of the material. If I hadn’t, I probably wouldn’t have discovered several of my favorite books or developed a taste for Shakespeare in junior high.

To those amazing and inspiring teachers who have made an impact on my life: Thank you! Words cannot describe how important your work is. You are never forgotten.

(source)

 

Notes:

I realize that I got a little “ramble-y” in this post. O, well…

I think the term “education” shouldn’t be limited to “book smarts” and the learning that happens in a school environment, but that’s a different blog post.

The grammar in some of these prompts drives me a little crazy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

