Feeling Foolish

An Ode to April Fool’s Day

I love a good practical joke… especially if I am in on it, and not at the receiving end (although, that can be fun, too). April Fool’s Day is an odd sort of pseudo-holiday. Not everyone celebrates it, and not a whole lot of people like it. I think I really got into the spirit when I was in junior high. I was always trying to come up with ways to trick my parents, though they rarely, if ever, worked. My parents, however, are masters…

Let me start off by saying that I absolutely adore my sister… now. When we were growing up the same house, however, we fought like crazy. The nine year age difference really got to us. Plus, I babysat her… a lot. One sibling was more than enough for me. I am sure you can see where this is going…

When I was in 7th or 8th grade, my parents gave me a huge scare. My mom was braiding my hair for me before school. We were just talking about run of the mill stuff. My dad walked in before he went off to work to say goodbye to us. Then, he casually said, “So, did you tell her?”

“Tell me what?”

My mom stopped braiding my hair, and both of my parents looked at me with huge smiles on their faces.

“Well, we went to the doctor the other day and found out that I am going to have a baby.”

My jaw dropped, and my parents swear that all of the color drained out of my face.

“That’s great… Wow.”

Fortunately, my parents didn’t take it any further. I may have had a heart attack. They thought that it was so funny how shocked and terrified I looked.

Keep in mind, my little sister was about 3 or 4 at the time and loved the word “No,” especially when I was babysitting.

Happy April Fool’s Day to me.

 

What’s your most memorable April Fool’s Day prank?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

