Belated Easter Sweets for My Sweet Sissy

Gluten-Free & Soy-Free Brownie Balls

My poor sister. Due to allergies, she has to stay away from food containing gluten and soy. Being raised in a family of choco-holics, it’s not an easy task. Seriously, next time you are perusing the candy aisle, take a look at the ingredients list of any chocolate bar. 9 times out of 10, soy is listed. Yes, I did just make up that statistic, but really… check it out.

Fortunately, I love a challenge. Especially a food-based challenge. I have created some treats for her before (cookies, cupcakes, brownies, etc), so I really wanted to try something different for Easter. Since I live several states away from my family, I figured that brownie balls would be a fun way to go… and also somewhat portable for the long Fed Ex journey.

Since I already knew a delicious gluten-free/soy-free recipe for brownies, I figured I would try brownies instead of cake. Experimentation Time!

Basics: 

– For the flour, I used Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix. This stuff seriously                           rocks. As suggested by the name, it also makes amazing pancakes and muffins.

– The only change I made to the brownie recipe is that the baking time ended up                    being closer to 30-35 minutes instead of 25 minutes (maybe because I used a glass              baking dish?). Just check them with a knife. They are done when the blade comes out        clean.

  • Frosting

– I decided to try Pamela’s Dark Chocolate Frosting Mix. It was definitely a winner. I will definitely buy this again.

  • Chocolate Chips/ Other Melting Candy

– I used Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips. These are one of my sister’s                 favorites. Very, very good.

Instructions:

You can find more in-depth instructions on the internet, but basically:

1. Bake brownies. Let them cool completely. I set mine out on the counter for about 15 minutes and then stuck them in the fridge for a faster cool-down.

2. Make frosting. Stick it in the fridge while brownies are cooling.

3. Crumble up  brownie in a mixing bowl. Slowly add frosting. Mash together with a fork until it becomes a sticky dough-like mess. I only used about 1/4 of the brownie pan at a time.

4. Form the brownie/frosting dough into balls. Place on wax/parchment paper. Stick them in the fridge to firm up.

5. Remove brownie balls from fridge.

6. Melt chocolate chips.

7. Dip brownie balls in melted chocolate. I used two spoons to get good coverage and remove excess chocolate.

8. Place them on wax/parchment paper again. Decorate if wanted. Put them back in the fridge until the chocolate hardens.

9. Eat.

FYI, my roommate said I have created chocolate crack. I must say, that I agree. After I filled up three boxes like the one above, we still had  about 1/4 of the brownie pan left, and a ton of frosting. We ate most of it while watching Scott Pilgrim, Easy A, and The Terminator. Yes, this is how we spend our weekends…

We are not ones to waste food, you know. Especially chocolate. That would just be wrong.

My sister finally got the treats in the mail today…

along with Season 4 of Buffy, Season 1 of Angel, and some Orange Jelly Bean lipgloss from Philosophy.

Between Buffy and Bones (and soon Angel), Delaney is a huge David Boreanaz fan. Obviously.

O, and incase you were wondering if she liked the Brownie Balls…

she had one and promptly told our parents that she wasn’t sharing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment