30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 24

Prompt: Your favorite movie and what it’s about.

Bueller? …… Bueller? …… Bueller?

I have seen a ton of excellent movies, which makes it really difficult to choose just one to discuss. Of course, one movie stands out in my mind as my movie.

(source)

As I mentioned in a previous blog post (Day 9 aka 30 Facts), my dear cousin Cara introduced me to Ferris when I was 9. From that time on, I was in love. All of my friends knew that it was my “favorite” movie. I could (and probably still can) quote the entire film. I had the film poster hanging in my bedroom (the one above, in fact). For my 16th birthday, my parents decked out my dad’s truck with Ferris Bueller paraphernalia and handed me the keys. I have multiple copies of it on DVD because, even though it was my favorite movie, somehow people thought that it would be the perfect gift for me…? Yeah, I don’t get it either… not that I’m complaining, of course.

(source)

Anyways,  the basic plot (for those of you who have not seen it…. shame, shame, shame. I shun you), is this:

Ferris likes to skip school… and he does it a lot. Eight times, in fact. On his ninth “sick day,” he convinces his neurotic best friend, Cameron, to come along for the joy ride (using Cameron’s dad’s Ferrari). When they swing by the school to pick up Sloane, Ferris’ girlfriend, the trio piques the suspicion of Ed Rooney, Dean of Students. Rooney decides to also take the day off and attempt to catch Ferris in the act, with the hopes of holding him back another year.

(source)

There is so much that I could say about this film. John Hughes had such a talent for creating real, relatable teenage characters and choosing the perfect actors for the roles. This film is sweet, beautiful, absolutely hilarious, and will always have a very special place in my heart.

“It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment